I’m an Introvert – and I’m okay with it

Tonight I am sitting at home and loving every moment of it.

I was invited to a last minute birthday get together for Jeremy’s CO’s wife, but I decided to decline.

I would have enjoyed myself, it was at my favorite line-dancing bar, and I had no other conflicting plans…but I still decided to pass on the invite.

I have come to accept that I am an introvert.

I used to feel like there was something wrong with me; because going out and “having fun” was exhausting to me when it was such a desirable activity for everyone else.

Now, don’t get me wrong. I have fun when I am out with people.

But it takes energy for me. I feel drained afterwards and I need time alone to “recharge”.

The opposite is true for extraverts, they gain energy by being around people.

This week I have had a lot of draining; a lot of events to attend. Spouse dinner, kickball practice, movies with friends, kickball tournament.  Going from work, to an event, and then home to bed is exhausting to me. I have no time to recharge from all the socialization.

So tonight, I said “no” when I was invited out. And I don’t feel bad about it at all.

In the last 25 years I have learned my limits. I’ve learned to accept my personality type. I’ve learned to accept myself.

Coincidently, I stumbled across this post on FB today; 25 Things Every Woman Should Have By The Time She Turns 25

It resonated with my new-found acceptance of myself and my introvert-ness

Good-night! I’m off to read a book and enjoy my solitude

2 thoughts on “I’m an Introvert – and I’m okay with it

  1. Enjoy your quiet! I’m an extrovert married to an introvert and while we both enjoy time out with friends, we also both recharge in different ways! It’s definitely been a balancing act for us in learning to accept how the other recharges in order to take care of both of us!

Leave a Reply

