My Adventure

“I’m leaving on a jet plane….”

Well, not quite yet; but in September.

I’ve bought my tickets and I will be traveling across the country (literally) to Boston/Connecticut/New York! I’ve never been the East Coast before, the further east I’ve been is Florida.

I had a moment a few months ago, where I realized that my marriage was holding me back from life. Specifically, from traveling and exploring on my own terms.

I remember in college (either right before or right after I got married) my BFF took a spontaneous trip to Ireland over Spring Break and tried very hard to convince me to go with her. I decided not to, not wanting to spend money or be apart from Jeremy.

Now, I wish so badly that I had gone.

I wish that I had studied abroad in college, taken an internship in another state or country, volunteered for Habitat for Humanity; done something other than work, got to class and stay home with Jeremy.

Yes, I was being responsible with my money and working instead of spending it on traveling. But I also let my new marriage hold me back from taking my own adventures; from exploring the world outside of my little family.

I love my husband, and I love being married. But that doesn’t mean that I can’t have my own life; my own adventures.

I don’t regret my choices in the past, because they led me to where I am now, and I am so incredibly happy. But I CAN learn from my past and make changes.

So I’m taking advantage of having a four day weekend for Rash Hashanah, and I’m going to a city I’ve always wanted to visit. I’m meeting up with my BFF from Grad School (who moved back home to CT) and my military spouse BFF who will conveniently visiting her family in NY while I am in town.

I’m taking this trip for me; without my husband.

Jeremy has little interest in NY or any big city, whereas I love touristy and historical stuff.

I LOVE traveling with Jeremy. We’ve made some great memories in our cross country trips together on the military’s time.

But I have interest that Jeremy doesn’t share; and there is nothing wrong with that.

So here is too a my great adventure. See you in September, East Coast!

4 thoughts on “My Adventure

  1. Pingback: It’s okay to vacation without your spouse? | look beyond the imperfections

  2. Pingback: It's okay to vacation without your spouse?

  3. Pingback: You are the “life” in my “life story”….? | look beyond the imperfections

  4. Pingback: look beyond the imperfections

Leave a Reply

