Humility

I’ve recently had some interesting developments at my work; one of my peers was promoted to my supervisor.

I found myself really struggling with the whole thing, dealing with my own feelings of jealousy and entitlement.

At first, I was hesitant to tell Jeremy about it, because I knew that he isn’t the type of person to automatically take my side and tell me that what I am feeling is valid. He disagrees with me often, and as a result, he challenges me to grow and reflects back to me the things about myself that I want to change. Things that I probably would have never seen if he had just immediately agreed with my side.

In this particular instance, the one point that stuck with me the most, was that he told me that I’m not a humble person.

I was shocked at first, and a little upset. I consider myself a kind person and to me, not being humble doesn’t sound very kind.

But after giving it some though, I realized that he is right. I’m not humble. I often talk about my accomplishment, and I am proud of them and proud of the work I have put into my life to reach the goals that I have.

I often think that I am better than others, especially when it comes to education and careers.

I don’t think that I am over the top in anyway, and I doubt I come across obscenely cocky or full of myself. But I certainly don’t come across as humble.

I think that humility can be a wonderful trait; it’s something that I would like to try to develop in myself.

In may ways, I feel that people should love themselves the way that they are and not put so much effort in changing to fit society or a spouses ideals.

But that doesn’t mean that there isn’t room for personal growth. For taking a look at yourself, critically, and working to become the best version of yourself.

So here I am, working on being more humble. On accepting my current position and putting all my energy into being the best worker that I can for where I am right now in my career.

One thought on “Humility

  1. Just wanted to say thank you for this post. It connected with some things that I’m struggling with right now. Thank you πŸ™‚

    Also, for the record, I’m the same way πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

