Blogging While Pretty {& Happy}

My favorite “body image” blogger shared this post a few weeks ago, and today as I was sitting down to write a blog about my weekend, it resonated with me.

The message relates specifically to body image, how we as society use social networks to present a “perfect” image of ourselves, duplicating what the media does with it’s airbrushing and editing.

With Facebook and blogs, we are the producers, directors and editors. These are our own reality TV stations. This is where we create what the world sees. Every day, we watch media that makes us feel inadequate. Our stretch marks, wrinkles, curves and bumps don’t exist in media land, and so the fact that we have them makes us feel like there’s something wrong with us. So what do we do?

We edit ourselves for our own reality shows.

We only post photos on Facebook where we like how we look. Or we do our own photo shoots, edit the photos, then post them. We put the pretty photos on our blogs.

We participate in the media brainwashing of men, women, and children, and we do it without meaning to.

I love her message, especially related to body image, because I do exactly what she is talking about! Every time I think I look nice or have a new outfit and want to share a “selfie” I take about 20 photos in order to get that “perfect” photo where I look beautiful…and then I edit it with filters on Instagram lol.

But I think her message can be applied to other aspects of our life as well, and the desire to put on a perfect facade of what we think our life should be, the “ideal”.

I was thinking about that as I sat down to write about my weekend. I was going to post a blog about men, women and relationships. Something along the line of “men are from mars, women are from venus”. The reason being that Jeremy and I had a disagreement and after talking it out and hearing his side I was baffled by his reasoning for his actions, even though they made sense to me on some level. I thought my reasons made more sense (and I think most women would side with me as well), hence the “men are from mars” mentality.

I wasn’t going to share what we fought about or that I was pissed off at him for a few days before we finally talked it out. Why? Because I didn’t want to share that my marriage is less than “perfect”? Because then I would be a failure?

But if we all only show how perfect our relationships are, then are we teaching everyone who is watching us that there is something wrong with them if they fight with their spouse or have anything less than the “perfect” that they think everyone else has.

So there you have it.

I look fat in some photos. I have love handles and cellulite. I get mad at my husband sometimes. He can be a emotionless jerk.

But that doesn’t mean that I am not beautiful or that my marriage is not wonderful.

Can’t we be both? Can’t it be okay to share it all?

DCIM101GOPROThe end of our weekend at Mt. Soledad, after we had made up from our “fight”

Leave a Reply

