Mediocre Love

“Unless it is mad, passionate, extraordinary love, it’s a waste of time. There are too many mediocre things in life. Love should not be one of them.”

I saw this quote the other day, and it stuck with me because I’m not sure that I agree with it.

One thing that I love the most about my relationship with Jeremy is that it is easy. Our love is not one of highs and lows. It’s a steady and consistent love.

Perhaps that makes it mediocre?

I would never describe my love for my husband as mad or passionate. I would use words like: steady, reliable, comfortable, unwavering.

Maybe for some people that would translate to boring.

But for me, it’s everything I’ve ever wanted. I want a love that will last a lifetime. I want a companion to spend my life with. I want someone who I know will be by my side long after the “passion” has faded.

I don’t want madness. I want easy/effortless. I don’t want extraordinary. I want reliable. I don’t want passionate. I want steady.

184908_10150100358886819_3270682_n

7 thoughts on “Mediocre Love

  1. I feel the same way about my love with my husband. I think that the steadiness and consistency makes our military relationship last. We have few lows because it is so even keeled, practical, comfortable, and reliable. For me and for my husband, a relationship of high highs and low lows would not span the distance and time that we spend apart.

    • Of course!
      I’m glad I’m not the only one who feels this way. After I re-read my post I realized it didn’t sound like my marriage is very romantic at all lol. But I think it’s just a different type of romance 🙂

      • Thank you! I’ll reblog it a littler later, after I’ve collected my thoughts. Yes, some people might find some marriages unromantic or something, but all marriages are different, and serve different purposes under different circumstances. I think that most long-term military marriages like ours have to be calm and steady – it’s what makes us last 🙂

  2. Reblogged this on The Navy Life of A Pilot's Wife and commented:
    Recently, I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about my marriage: what makes it meaningful, how my husband and I will “make it work” through deployments to come, and, honestly, why it is that I’m so happy and content in this marriage. The one point that I always come back to is that our marriage is steady — we do not have high highs or low lows — we are always very content and on an even keel. Our love is steady and comes easily, and we have a high level of trust that the other will always be there, loving us as we are.

    I think it’s the steadiness and easiness that allows our love to span the distance and time that separates us so often. If our relationship had high highs and low lows, the waves and changes would affect the connection and make it weaker. So, for us, this steady love works.

    I am reblogging this post from a fellow military wife. Her assessment and words are spot-on, and it felt gratifying to see another marriage that is just like mine — with so much trust, steadiness, and easy happiness.

    There is no specific formula for a successful military marriage; every marriage has different needs, different players, and different circumstances. For some, the high highs and low lows help the connection. Some may wonder about our steady marriage because the steadiness doesn’t sound very romantic or passionate. I think that we have highly romantic and passionate marriages … just in our own way.

    Enjoy this post – I think that it’s perfectly written, like many of her other posts 🙂

  3. I agree with you. My love for my husband was easy, steady, reliable. That too is what I am looking for. My love for my husband is not mad – but it is strong and I know he loves me no matter what, every day of the week. I think your love is not mediocre but wonderful and will stand the test of time!

  4. Pingback: Romance is Boring | look beyond the imperfections

Leave a Reply

