What would you do?

Am I the only one who ever thinks, “what would I do in that situation?”

For example, if you were on an airplane and people were trying to hijack it, would I just sit there or would I try to overpower them? If I saw somebody being mugged would I run over and help? Etc.

Last week Jeremy actually experienced one of my hypothetical “what would I do” moments. 

He was driving back to base and there was a huge car accident a few cars ahead of him. An 18-wheeler crushed a mini-van that had a couple and a child inside. That triggered three other accidents.

I would like to think that I would pull over and help. I don’t have any medical training or anything, but I would hope that I would try to do something.

Jeremy actually did something, and he probably saved a woman’s life. He has received basic medical combat training through the Marine Corps, but has never had to use it in the field.

The woman in the mini-van was bleeding out, her legs had been crushed during the collision.  He applied a tourniquet to her leg to stop the bleeding which probably kept her alive until the paramedics arrived 20 min later. 

It was absolutely amazing to here him tell me this story. He said it in such a casual way, in fact, I probably wouldn’t have even found out that he helped the woman unless I had probed. All his said was there was an accident and he stopped and assisted. 

But that’s just the kind of person he is. The kind of person who helps others because it’s the right thing to do. It’s just natural to him. 

I would hope that I could do something like that if the situation presented itself to me. But I guess you don’t really know until you are in that moment. 

4 thoughts on “What would you do?

  1. That is amazing! We need more people in the world like your husband. I’m happy that he was able to help and am happy that you are so blessed. (: I also enjoy reading about your relationship because it shows me that there is hope out there to find a good one (;

    On a side note, the first thing I thought when I read your title was, “What would you do?…For a Klondike bar?”

    • Thanks for the comment! He certainly is a good one, I got lucky finding him.

      Lol to the Klondike comment, I didn’t even make that connection but now the jingle is stuck in my head ha!

  2. Pingback: When the Rubber Meets the Road | look beyond the imperfections

Leave a Reply

