Funniest Moment From The First Year

I’ve decided to participate in a newly wed link-up for the month of June. Every week they post a question/topic to respond to that related to the first year of marriage. Although I have been married for more than a year, I sill somewhat consider myself a newly wed, it’s only been 4 1/2 years! When does one stop being a newly wed? Is there a time limit? Lol

This week’s prompt is: funniest moments from the first year

I have a good story for this one.

At the time that Jeremy and I eloped, I had never met his family or been to Wisconsin (his home state). When we were dating I briefly met 2 of his 4 siblings while they were out in California working, but I hadn’t met his parents or the rest of his family.

So a few months after we got married we made a trip to Wisconsin so he could introduce his new wife to his family.

It was my first trip to another state other than California.

For those of you who haven’t visited the Mid-West, it is a drastically different culture than the West Coast. Farming, rednecks, hunting, bars everywhere, cheese, etc., was all new to me.

One night I got pretty tipsy and Jeremy was driving us home. Apparently I was chattering on too much and Jeremy told me that we were going to play a game. The game was to look out the window of the car and look for deer eyes, so that we wouldn’t hit a deer if it ran out into the road.

Seemed like a legitimate idea to me. I’m not used to having to worry about deer running into the road so I figured this must be some Wisconsin car game.

For the rest of the car ride I sat in silence starring out the window looking for deer.

At some other point during this same trip Jeremy or I ended up telling his family about this “game” he had me play. Which is when the truth comes out that there is no such game! I was just drunk and annoying and Jeremy was trying to distract me. Such a loving husband, right?! lol

My Californianess is an ongoing joke point with his family. But I don’t mind much. I have plenty more ammunition to make fun of Wisconsinites then they do to make fun of Cali Girls lol

Image

My first trip to Wisconsin! August 2009

Leave a Reply

