Underemployed

Let me take a moment and get on my soap box: BEING UNDEREMPLOYED SUCKS!

Yesterday I started my new Temp Job (I won’t mention any names, but it’s basically a government administrative position). I just graduated a few weeks ago with my Master’s of Social Work, but since we are PCSing in December I decided to focus on temporary work. I didn’t have any luck with Social Work temporary job (it’s not really the type of field with a lot of temp work), so I signed up with a Temp Agency because we need the extra income after me being unemployed for the last two years.

I got a job right away, which is nice, but after spending the last 2 days, 9 hours a day, being an underpaid secretary, I think unemployment might be better than this.

I’ve never really understood why people complained about being underemployed, a job is a job and a paycheck is a paycheck when you have bills to pay.

But I get it now.

I think for me what is most difficult is the lack of mental stimulation. I literally just do exactly what I am told to do. To the point of using a specific font when creating files. Because obviously if I use Bold instead of Italics, the world will end (did I mention my boss is the most type A personally I’ve ever met?)

I have no authority, I have no responsibilities and I am micro-managed to the extreme.

After working as a Case Manager and a Therapist for the last two years, this job is torture!

I miss talking to people. I miss managing my own time and scheduling my own clients. I miss analyzing my clients and actually using my BRAIN. I miss being responsible for high level tasks (not alphabetizing files). I miss being respected.

Okay, I’m done. Thanks for listening.

In realizing that I will be stuck at jobs like this for the next 6 months, I’ve decided to try to adjust my attitude.

Yes, I am underemployed and it really sucks. But at least I have a job. The pay is decent, the commute isn’t bad and it could be worse…I could be in retail again.

It’s just hard to be working at such an entry level job at this time in my life. But for the sake of my sanity for the 6 months, I’m going to do my best to make the most of this job and focus on the positives. It’s just Temporary, after all.

Leave a Reply

