:(

My husband and I have been together for 5 years and he has been in the military for that entire time. So you would think that I would be used to the military messing up our plans.

We made it safely through our engagement and wedding without any major inconveniences thrown in the by Marine Corps, although in all fairness it was only 9 months lol.

It wasn’t until after we got married that I got to experience the whole “you can’t plan anything” aspect of military life.

We had our vow renewal planned for the year after our wedding, but Jeremy was told he was deploying so we pushed it back a year. Then, after we had told all our vendors to move the date…they changed their mind and said he wasn’t deploying, so we moved the date back up. And then they decide he was deploying so we had to push it back again. Thankfully they stuck with those orders and he did actually deploy and make it back in time for our vow renewal.

He did not however, make it back in time for my college graduation. He missed it by 5 days. 5 days!

Jeremy got back from his most recent deployment in December, which meant he was actually going to be home for my graduate school graduation. Except not. Today he came home and told me he is being sent to training for 6 weeks, leaving 2 weeks before my graduation.

You would think I would be used to it, that I could just go with the flow.

For the most part I can, I expect him to be gone a lot, to deploy and to miss important events.

But I am not sure if I will ever get used to the unknown, out of the blue, here one day gone the next, aspect of military life.

But one thing I have learned over the last 5 years of schoolings, deployments and trainings, is to always look at the positives.

I am graduating with my MASTERS degree! My parents and brother are coming down to see me graduate and support me. After 6 years of college I am finally going to be done!

6 thoughts on “:(

    • Thanks! I’m definitely very excited to graduate, I just got my hopes up he would be able to be there this time since he just got back from a deployment. The training was totally out of the blue.

      • yea I understand where you are coming from… that’s just the life we live and we have to stay positive or look on the sunny side when things like that happen.

  1. It is such a bummer when the military messes up plans. My husband and I are drawing close to three years married and are planning to time our next PCS to give us enough dwell time to finally have a ceremony on our four year anniversary. There’s been so much we’ve missed thanks to the military, but at the same time, it’s also let us see things that we wouldn’t have otherwise.

    Congratulations on graduating!

  2. You’re not alone in this situation! My hubby was deployed when I finished both my bachelor’s degree and my masters. It is what it is, right? Be proud of your accomplishment(s) and know that even though he’s not going to be there, he must be proud too. 🙂

  3. I still throw fits when stuff gets messed up. It’s ok to be disappointed. It doesn’t mean you don’t accept it, that you’re not strong, not as “good” as other wives at it. It’s just a normal human emotion. ❤

Leave a comment