Married Young

I saw this article posted on Facebook by a friend of mine, and the title grabbed my attention enough to read it: Married Young: I got married at 23. What are the rest of you waiting for?

Now, I got married young (a few months after I turned 20), but right off the bat I thought the title came across rude. Everyone meets their parter at different times in their life, and everyone makes the choice to get married at different times in their life. There is no “right” age to get married and there may be a lot of reasons why a person may decide to wait on marriage.

The article itself was also one-sided and came across very pretentious, in my opinion.

However, the one thing I did like about it and took away was her argument that society seems to believe that marriage is the end of your pre-adult life. It’s the finish line that you get to cross after you’ve graduated college, partied to your hearts content, established your career, bought a house, etc.

And I think that is a common misconception. Marriage to me isn’t about age, having a college degree or how much you make at your job. Marriage is an expression of love. It’s a public commitment to the person you’ve chosen to spend the rest of your life with.

Regardless of if you are 18 or 68, marriage should be on the table if you feel like you’ve found the right person.

Yes, I know there are people who wait on marriage for financial reasons, their parents are supporting them through college, or they are covered by their health insurance, etc. But in general, there is no reason why a couple can’t continue to work towards their individual goals (college, work, etc) and be married at the same time.

I married my husband during my Sophomore year of college. I graduated two years later and next month I will be graduating with my Master’s degree. Being married hasn’t kept me from accomplishing any of my own goals and career aspirations.

I honestly don’t really see the connection between the two. I married my husband because I love him and I wanted to express that in the highest socially accepted form: marriage. I didn’t need to graduate college or start my career to know that I wanted to spend the rest of my life with him.

I am in no way saying that everyone should get married young. However, what I am saying is that making the choice to get married isn’t related to your status as a college student, non-homeowner, or any other material aspect of your life. And that getting married down not mean that you can’t accomplish all those things at the same time.

tumblr_lpfgpu5Vit1qg9hhso1_500_large

Leave a Reply

