An awkward dinner – tag chasers

I went to dinner last night with a few of my friends from school and one of them brought a friend of hers who was in town visiting.

Somehow we got on the conversation of dating and marriage, etc, and it came out that I am married to someone in the military (the other 3 girls I was with were single). The girl who I didn’t know (the friend of my friend) said she would like to marry a military guy and in fact lives in a military town (Lemoore, CA) and seeks them out on purpose. She wants an Officer (aiming high! lol) and would like to marry someone in the military for the great benefits. (in my head I was thinking…”tell me more about these “great benefits” you speak of lol)

This is what many people call a “tag chaser”, only interested in someone in the military because they are in the military.

I know a lot of women who hate tag chasers, I personally am not that bothered by it. I think a lot of women have a “type” that they are attracted too, I know I have pretty much only dated country boys because that’s what I like. So if your thing is fire fighters or doctors, then go for it.

I don’t think the type of person that you are attracted too means that you are going to marry the first one you meet simply because they are your type and have the kind of job and lifestyle you are attracted too. Its the person that you end up falling for, not the job that may have initially drawn you in. I didn’t marry the first country boy I dated, nor the first military man I dated, I feel in love with my husband because of who he is as a person.

And that is where I have a problem with tag chasers; if they marry someone or date someone simply for the job, and not because they love the person for who they are.

I dated a handful of military guys before I met my husband. I wasn’t seeking them out in particular, but I live near 4 military bases and someone being in that profession wasn’t a deal breaker for me, so I dated them if I liked them. When I met my husband and fell in love with him I didn’t care what he did for a living. I wanted to spend the rest of my life with him, regardless of his job.

My other friend that I was there with said that she would never date a military guy. She doesn’t want to move around and uproot her life for anybody. And you know what, I think that’s a perfectly fine opinion to have also. This isn’t a lifestyle for everyone, and if you know that it’s not what you want, then don’t waste your time being friendly with a military guy.

So there the three of us were, 1 military wife, 1 tag chaser, and 1 girl determined to never date a military man.

For some reason I just found the whole thing very awkwardly funny.

2 thoughts on “An awkward dinner – tag chasers

  1. We just moved to a town outside of Quantico MCB and I’ve been told the same thing. Apparently women in this area will approach a marine, regardless of if they’re already taken, and shamelessly hit on them. They see an easy meal ticket. It’s extremely unfortunate.

  2. I had never dated anyone in the military before my husband. In fact, during one of our first conversations, I told him we’d never date because I was too high maintenance to be with anyone in the military. Doh. LOL

Leave a Reply

