Weight Loss Motivation Cycle

I vacillate between two opinions when it comes to weight loss.

#1: the “if other people can do it I can do it” phase where I am inspired to other people weight loss and tell myself that with dedication, eating healthy, working out and staying motivated I too could be an inspirational ‘before and after’

tumblr_lz7b4gMCB31r1pua2o1_500

#2: I like to call this phase the “Marilyn Monroe”, where I should learn to love my body the way it is.

What’s wrong with being a size 12? I have never been a skinny girl, I should start to accept my body the way it is instead of trying to meld it into what is socially acceptable.

WORDS106

I normally go through these phase in 2-4 month cycles. I decide to motivate myself to lose weight, I keep it up for 2-3 months, then I get tired of missing out on all the foods that I love and go back to my old ways, telling myself that I am just fine the way I am.

Today I went through both of these phases in one day.

Jeremy and I have been eating healthy and working out for the last 3 weeks and I’ve lost 3 lbs. I was depressed about the lack of progress after giving up all the foods that I like…and I was majorly craving Girl Scout cookies lol.

But then Jeremy was amazingly supportive and helped me brainstorm ideas to keep on track. He is very disciplined (something I am not) and is in very good shape (another thing I am not) lol.

After a long discussion we finally decided that I will be started the Advocare 24 Day Challenge, in the hopes that losing weight and seeing results right away will keep me motivated in working towards the healthy lifestyle we are trying to live.

I think one of my challenges in losing weight and staying motivated is that I’m not really that unhappy with my body. I always tell my clients, that people only change if they are uncomfortable enough with the way they are now. If your okay with your life, then you have no motivation for change.

Would I like to look hot in a bikini when I go to the beach? Yes. But since I don’t go to the beach that often and I think I look good in clothes, it’s not a huge motivating factor for me.

photo

But I’m hoping with Jeremy supporting me and investing my hard earned money, I will be able to break my cycle and make it more than 3 months of being healthy. My goal is 6 months, then a year and ultimately a lifestyle.

“It took more than a day to gain it, it will take more than a day to lose it”

2 thoughts on “Weight Loss Motivation Cycle

  1. Back after we got married, I put on the typical 10-15 pounds that most newlyweds gain. For me it was from the stress of moving overseas, lots of road trips and vacations, and mindlessly eating the same food and portions that my husband did. When I decided I wanted to lose weight (coincidentally matching up exactly with us booking our one year anniversary beach trip) I didn’t want to cut food. I didn’t want to do something that I couldn’t maintain for a lifetime. I like burgers and french fries. And I ate those while losing weight. It took me roughly four months to lose 20 pounds just by counting calories (I used myfitnesspal).

    I’ve maintained that loss for over a year and a half now. I still eat pretty much the same as I did before, just now I’m mindful of exactly how many calories are in something. I’m much better at dividing my food in half at restaurants, eating slowly to enjoy the food, and noticing the difference between boredom and hunger.

    I’m back on the weight loss wagon to drop the holiday poundage as my weight had crept above my acceptable threshold. So I’m back to more conscious eating and slightly more restrictions than when I’m not trying to lose weight.

    Good luck with the Advocare! I’ve heard good things about it. I’m just wanted to share my experience with being able to lose weight while still eating the foods I love.

    • Thanks! I just started using MyFitness Pal too and I like it so far.
      And I agree with what you said about making better choices with portions and stuff, but still being able to eat what you like.
      My husband wanted pizza last night, and instead of ordering my normal 1000+ calorie pizza, I got a helthy one and only ate 3 slices which was only 450 calories total. I still got to enjoy the pizza, but with way less calories.

Leave a Reply

