Our 5-year baby plan

Jeremy and I took a road trip to WI over the holidays to spend time with his family and see our friends.

556341_10151207774656819_1208309758_n

We’ve gotten to the age (24), where it seems like all our family and friends have babies! Jeremy has a niece (his first one), his best friend from High School is pregnant, his sister is pregnant, our friends from the Marine Crops have a baby and my cousin has a baby! Pretty much everyone we stayed with and visited with is either pregnant or has a baby lol.

And of course, we get asked by everyone when we are planning on having kids because we have been married for 4 years and are at that age.

Our answer = 5 years

Jeremy wants to wait till he is out of the military, so that’s 3 years. He also wants to go to college when he gets out, so that’s another 2 -3 years. He would like to wait another few years so he can get established at a job, buy a house, etc. But that would be 2 more years which would make the total 7-8 years from now and would make me 31 or 32, and I don’t want to start having kids that late in life for medical reasons.

So we’ve settled on 5 years, when he is done with college and we are both 28.

Jeremy always says he is scared of having kids. He wants them someday, but he is scared of the responsibility and is afraid of messing up.

But after our trip home, when we were on our last day of driving, he said that after spending so much time around babies he is actually kinda excited to have kids. He is so great with them, and he loved playing with my cousins little boy (he really wants a boy lol). Playing with the little boy he felt like it wasn’t actually that scary or hard, that he could do it with his own baby someday.

Hearing that gave me hope, hope that maybe in 5 years when it comes time for us to try he will be ready and as excited as I am. Because I am ready. I want to be a mom within the next few years.

But I also want Jeremy to be ready. I want us to be on the same page, because having a child is a life changing responsibility, and it’s one that I want us to make together when we are both ready and excited for that next phase in our life together.

528517_10151213984126819_1934007612_n

Practicing with our friend’s 6-month old baby girl

 

photo-3

Jeremy playing with his niece. He is going to make such a great Dad someday!

5 thoughts on “Our 5-year baby plan

  1. We’re flip flopped. My husband wants kids right NOW! I’m a little more hesitant, but I am excited about it none the less. We simply don’t prevent and leave it [mostly] to fate. LOL.

  2. We decided when we got married that we would wait until our 5 year anniversary to discuss the whole kids thing. Neither of us feels overly compelled to have them, so we’re okay with taking our time. It does get old having people ask us (I’m already 27, so we actually get it a lot) but we have just taken to giving humorous answers and that seems to work most of the time.

  3. We are trying to wait as well, I am 23 and my husband is 25. My husband also wants to get out and be established before we extend our family. I mainly want to be settled down and have a home. I have moved 4 times in the past 3 years 😦 But it is hard looking at everyone else and feeling left out. Especially when your facebook feed is full of adorable baby pics! lol

    • Exactly! It’s so hard to wait when everybody you know is pregnant and having babies. Plus, I feel like in the military of you don’t have two kids by the time your 21 you are wired lol

  4. Pingback: Biology need to catch up to Society | look beyond the imperfections

Leave a Reply

