Thankful

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving, and since everybody else seems to be doing a “what I’m thankful for” post, I thought I would join the crowd. Although I think it would be easier (and shorter) to do a “what I am NOT thankful for” post lol.

I am naturally a very positive person, as you can see from the title of my blog. I chose to see the world as “glass half full” or, to put it more poetically:

“We can complain because rose bushes have thorns, or rejoice because thorn bushes have roses.” ― Abraham Lincoln

So here is my list (with some quotes added to make it more interesting lol):

I am thankful for my loving husband: even though he is deployed right now and I miss him like crazy, I am always thankful that I have such a wonderful spouse to miss. Everyday our marriage grows stronger and I truly feel more in love with him now that I did the day I married him almost four years ago. We continue to grow together as a couple and I can’t wait to spend the rest of my life with him by my side.

“How lucky am I to have something that makes saying goodbye so hard”

Following up with that, I am thankful that this deployment is almost over: Although I think there are many positives in deployments (learning to be independent, gaining an appreciation of your spouse, more money, etc.) I will be a very happy wife when my husband steps off that plane and is back in my arms again.

“Distance between two hearts is not an obstacle, rather a beautiful reminder of how strong true love can be”

I am thankful for my education: To be able to get my masters is a privilege, one that I try very hard to appreciate as I cram for exams and write 20 page papers lol.

“Education is not preparation for life: Education is life itself.” – John Dewey

I am thankful for my family: The more I work with clients, the more I hear stories of unhappy  childhoods and cruel parents. It makes me appreciate even more the supportive and loving parents that raised me and still support me to this day.

Other things may change us, but we start and end with family. – by Brandt, Anthony

I am thankful for my friends: Especially with deployments, I have come to realize what an important role my friends play, and I cherish every one.

“A friend is someone who understands your past, believes in your future, and accepts you just the way you are”

I am thankful for my health and my economic status: While these may seem like superficial things to be thankful for, I have learned through my work with homeless and low income families, how much it means to have a roof over your head and money to buy groceries. I have a new appreciation for my modest income, while it may not be much, it’s enough to pay the rent and meet all of my basic needs.

“Home is a notion that only nations of the homeless fully appreciate and only the uprooted comprehend.” – Wallace Stegner

I am thankful for my freedom and the life I have had the chance to live here in America: For school I am doing a project on Women in Afghanistan, and the more stories I read and the more I learn about their culture, I appreciate the wonderful life I have been allowed to live and the freedom that I take for granted everyday.

“There are those, I know, who will say that the liberation of humanity, the freedom of man and mind, is nothing but a dream.  They are right.  It is the American dream.”  ~Archibald MacLeish

I am sure there are other things that I am not thinking of at the moment, perhaps I will add on to this later. But for tonight, that is what I have.

So Happy Thanksgiving,

As we express our gratitude, we must never forget that the highest appreciation is not to utter words, but to live by them.  ~John Fitzgerald Kennedy

Leave a Reply

