Election Day and Politics

So incredibly happy that the election is over. I think this e-card pretty much sums up my feelings on the matter.

Image

I thought when I got on FB this morning it would all be over, but I was very wrong. Here is a taste of some of the rude/ignorant/’piss me off’ posts that I got to read this morning: 

“America, it’s looking like you’ve fucked yourself for another 4 years”

“Canada, here I come”

and my favorite:

“I assume Obama supporters will be partying all night since they don’t have a job to be at tomorrow morning.”

These are of couse all from my Republican friends because Obama won and now they are pissed off.

I won’t get into politics too much, I won’t say who I supported or what my political ideology is, I think everyone is entitled to their own opinion and I certainly don’t think my political views are the “right” opinions.  I don’t want to agrue with anybody about politics, you can believe what you believe, and I will do the same, it’s the joy of living in a fee country. But I did want to talk about my experineces yesterday, election day.

I work at a social service agency, the kind Republican’s seem to hate where we give people money and help them when they are unemployed and going through a hard time. I used to work with homeless individuals and families at my last job, and now I mostly work with women going through domestic violence. I’m not a case manager (the people who provide the money, cell phones, food, bus passes, etc), but that’s still a big part of what we do here.

Needless to say, pretty much everybody who works here is a Democrat. The girls in the cubicle next to me were going on and on yesterday about how they don’t undersand how anybody could vote for Romny.

Then after I got off work I went over to a friends house to hang out with some of my military wife friends, who not surprisingly are all Republicans. They pretty much echoed the Democrats I work with, but in the opposite direction; “How could anybody vote for Obama!?”

Yet we had a very close election, and the Senate and House are still controlled by separate parties.

What I don’t understand is how people can not understand the other side. We are a Democracy, that mean’s more than one political party, clearly if we all agreed there would be one party, not two. How can people be so wrapped up in their own ideas that they can’t see that maybe not everybody agrees with them?

And to go back to the lovely comments my friends posted on FB (mostly the Republicans, I didn’t do that on purpose, they seem to just be the more outspoken of the two parties), what happened to patriotism? You know, being ONE NATION, proud to be an American? Or does that only apply when the political leader you want is in power? If so, then maybe you should move to one of those one-party countries where you won’t have conditions on your patriotism.

America has spoken, we voted, we made a choice. As long as the choice was made be a fair and representative election, I’m not going to complain.

Leave a Reply

