Begin Again

I will admit, I am a Taylor Swift fan. I’m a country music fan in general so I enjoy her older, more “country” style.  Her new “pop” style isn’t really for me though, so I was hesitant to check out her new CD since she seems to be moving away from country and more towards pop. I still haven’t bought it, but I did listen to it online to see if I would like it. The one song that stood out to me was the last one on the CD: Begin Again

Took a deep breath in the mirror.
He didn’t like it when I wore high heels but I do.
Turn the lock and put my headphones on.
He always said he didn’t get this song but I do.
I do.

Walked in expecting you’d be late.
But you got here early and you stand and wait.
I walk to you.
You pull my chair out and help me in.
And you don’t know how nice that is but I do.

And you throw your head back laughing like a little kid.
I think it’s strange that you think I’m funny cause he never did.

 The song really resonated with me because it reminded me of when I first started dating Jeremy. I have had bad relationships in my past, I don’t speak of it openly or often, but I’ve been through domestic violence and emotional abuse. And this song reminded me of what it felt like going from that relationship to the one I have with Jeremy. It was so strange for me to be with somebody who thought I was wonderful, beautiful, smart and funny. To be with somebody who thought they were lucky to have me.

 Whether or not its domestic violence, when you’re with the wrong guy, someone who puts you down and doesn’t appreciate you, it’s hard on your self-esteem. And to leave that relationship, and to find the right guy, a healthy relationship, it’s surprising and it feels a little strange at first.

I think she captures it perfectly in just that one line
“I think it’s strange that you think I’m funny cause he never did”

4 thoughts on “Begin Again

  1. I just stumbled upon your blog and this brought tears to my eyes! I was in that “bad” relationship for 18 months, and now, 4 weeks later, I’m still hoping that a “good” guy will come! Loved this! xoxo

    • When the time is right, he will show up 🙂 I took over a year to work on myself before I met my husband, we’ve been married for almost 4 years now and he treats me like a queen. Don’t settle for less than somebody who loves you for who you are, that guy is out there and he is looking for somebody just like you!

  2. Pingback: Domestic Violence Awareness Month | look beyond the imperfections

  3. Pingback: Domestic Violence Awareness Month | look beyond the imperfections

Leave a Reply

