75% Done with Deployment #2!

Today is a big milestone for our second deployment: 75% down!

This milestone can nicely tie into the description of my new blog. The new title is “Look Beyond the Imperfections”, which is taken from one of my favorite quotes:

“Being happy doesn’t mean that everything is perfect. It means that you’ve decided to look beyond the imperfections.”

Deployments aren’t typically something you want in your life when your aiming for “happy”, but just because someone is going threw a deployment, doesn’t mean they can’t be happy.

There have been many times during this deployment and the last one where I have been happy, because I appreciate what I have, rather than ruminating on what I don’t.

Yes, Jeremy is deployed.

But, I am lucky to be in school, I’m in my last year of college, I have wonderful friends, my family loves me, I fall more in love with my husband every day, our marriage continues to get stronger, I’m healthy, Jeremy is healthy, we have a home and many other material luxuries. I could go on and on, you get the point lol.

Focus on the positive and you will find happiness

2 thoughts on “75% Done with Deployment #2!

  1. I am glad to see another person looking to the positive vs. the negative. I mean yea it sucks to have your other half on the other side of the world but there are so many positive things that happy in everyday life. Through my husbands last deployment I would get up everyday look myself in the mirror and say “today I will choose to see the positive things in my life and try my best not to focus on the negative”. I can remember one particularly difficult time. My husband had come home for R&R and I was so excited! He was going to be home for Halloween, Veteran’s Day, his birthday, and the family’s adjusted Thankgiving (we did it a week early so him and his brother who was also deployed could enjoy the holiday)! Well I spent the entire 2 weeks sick to no ends and actually spent one night in the hospital where they misdiagnosed me. Well they sent me home with meds and I powered through. I kept reminding myself that I had my husband home to celebrate holidays and make memories with. The day after he got on a plane to return to Afghanistan I went to my follow up appt. and was told I was misdiagnosed and would need surgery! Long story short I could have shut down because I didn’t have my husband with me in my time of need, but instead I looked at the positive side; I got to know his family very well and know that I was accepted into their family completely. I had a member of his family helping me out everyday throughout recovery. I did not expect it at all but it truly was a blessing! Always look for the positive in situations. Even when it seems like nothing positive could come out of it dig down deep and look real hard! It’s always there and it makes all the difference in the world!

  2. Pingback: Blogging Anniversary! | look beyond the imperfections

Leave a Reply

